About Us

Guangzhou Sum Jee Wing Chun Academy

The Guangzhou Sum Jee Wing Chun Academy was established in 2002. Committed to promoting the authentic Guangzhou Wing Chun, with the mission of inheriting the martial arts culture of Master Sum Jee. In addition to Guangzhou and Hong Kong, it also has branches as far as Vancouver in Canada, New York in the US, and Sydney, Australia.

Hong Kong

Guangzhou

Huizhou

New York

Vancouver

Vancouver

History of Guangzhou Wing Chun

Wing Chun was created by the famous Bhuddist Nun Ng Mui of the Fujian Putian Shaolin Temple. She later passed to Miu Shun, and from Miu Shun passed to Yim Yi. Yim then taught his daughter Yim Wing-Chun, who later taught her husband Leung Bok-To. Leung enjoyed Chinese opera, and met Wong Wa-Bo, Leung Yi-Tai, Luk Gum (commonly known as “Dai Fa Min Gum”, translated as "the Painted Face"), and Go Lo-Jung at the Red Boat Opera Group. Therefore, as a friendly gesture Leung passed the Wing Chun skills to these four, as well as another friend Fok Bo-Chuen. While Luk Gum taught the famous county constable Fung Siu-Ching; Fok passed his knowledge to Yuen Kay-San (in his later years, Fung also taught Yuen Kay-San as well). Sum Nung was originally under the tutelage of another master Cheung Bo. He was later recommended by Cheung to further his training under Yuen Kay-San. In 1948, Sum Nung left Foshan and was able to open a medical hall and a martial arts hall in Guangzhou. In 1989 he founded the “Guangzhou Wing Chun Association”, and was dubbed “the Father of Guangzhou Wing Chun”. His students are now located all over the world.

About Sum Jee

Sum Jee was Sum Nung's uncle, and the Sum Jee lineage is a major sublineage of the Sum Nung’s. In addition to teaching Wing Chun, Sum Jee also integrated his many years of Hung Kuen skills into a set of exercises in which it interacts with Wing Chun , so that the apprentices can experience how Wing Chun would interact with foreign boxing techniques.

Teaching Style

Guangzhou Sum Jee Wing Chun Academy upholds tradition, and everything starts with basic skills. After firmly establishing the roots, one then learns empty hand forms and progress to Chi Sao, gradually learning more advanced techniques. When the trainees reach a certain level, they can be formally inducted as disciples (after performing the apprenticeship ceremony) through the master’s review (personality/ discplinary review) to establish a formal teacher-apprentice relationship.

Sum Jee

Characteristics of Guangzhou Wing Chun

Yuen Kay-San Wing Chun also has empty hand forms such as Siu Lien Tau, Chum Kiu, Biu Jee, Wooden Dummy training, Six and a half pole and the Double Blades, but its technique and energy deployment are very unique. For example, in the form of boxing, Yuen Kay-San Wing Chun has the Single Dragon Punch, the Body Rotational Punch, and the Arrow Punch, which are clearly different from other lineages. The most unique aspect lies in the use of “Fa Jing”. Yuen Kay-San Wing Chun emphasizes that one should gradually loosen the punches, so that the six major joints of the body (ankle, knee, waist, shoulder, elbow, and wrist) can be opened and closed at any time, and the muscles and tendons are relaxed. The fist is not clenched until the last moment, so that the punch can be fast and strong, i.e. "relaxed". In terms of technique, Guangzhou Wing Chun also has a "twelve scattered drills" specially designed for fighting, extracting the essence from the hand forms and the Wooden dummy training. In its theories, Guangzhou Wing Chun stresses the first thing is to be relaxed and not clash with the opponent. When the whole body is relaxed, the footwork can be more flexible and ingenious, and the angles and landing points of the counterattack can be more precise. The unique perception (“Jee Gok”) training, training practitioners to respond to changes in the energy flow of the opponent's bridge. With the ability to attack and defend in close proximity using Chi Sao, learners will advance to practice off-bridge combat. In addition, there are unique methods for penetrating penetrability, concentration, grasping the opponent's finger strength and wrist strength, and the training of bridge hand dimensions and resilience. This curriculum aims to cultivate skills from various foundations.

Curriculum

Fundamentals: Stance (Yee Jee Kim Yeung Ma), 4 basic punches
Forms: Siu Lien Tao / Chum Kiu / Biu Jee Chi Sao
Wooden Dummy
Weapons: 6 and Half Point Pole / Double Blades
Qigong: San Hey Gwai Yuen (Kidney-Chi Unification Set)
en_USEnglish
zh_TW繁體中文 en_USEnglish

關於我們

廣州岑枝詠春拳術學會

廣州岑枝詠春拳術學會在2002年成立。致力於發揚正宗廣州詠春,以傳承岑枝師祖武學文化為重任。 除了廣州和香港外,遠至加拿大溫哥華、美國紐約、澳洲悉尼亦設有分會。

香港

廣州

惠州

紐約

溫哥華

溫哥華

廣州詠春歷史

詠春拳的傳承歷史,每個支系都不同。但由於多數人比較少接觸廣州詠春,故在此簡略交代廣州詠春拳之傳承。詠春拳由福建莆田南少林,少林庵五枚師太所創。五枚後來傳苗順,再傳嚴二。嚴二再傳其女嚴詠春,之後由嚴詠春傳其夫婿梁博濤。因梁本身鍾情粵劇,經常觀賞紅船戲班瓊花會館的演出而結識了黃華寶、梁二娣、陸錦(俗稱“大花面錦“)、及高佬忠。以武會友因而將詠春拳傳授予上述四位。黄、梁二人後來傳梁贊(即陳華順及葉問一系); 陸錦後傳馮少青及霍保全; 霍保全則傳拳于阮奇山(阮亦有一段時間於名捕頭馮少青晚年時期習拳)。阮奇山後傳岑能。岑能本是另一詠春拳師張保的弟子,後來阮奇山見他天分高,經張保引薦後便收為徒弟。岑能在1948年到廣州開設醫館及武館,將阮奇山所授之功夫發揚光大。岑能宗師於1989年創立了 “廣州詠春拳會“,及後被稱為“廣州詠春拳之父“。現時岑能詠春的傳人也遍布世界各地。

關於岑枝

岑枝為岑能的叔父,岑枝派系為岑能宗支的一大支派。岑枝除了傳授詠春外,亦將本身多年的洪拳技藝整合出一套詠春跟洪拳互動的練習,令徒弟能體會到詠春如何和外家拳法切磋互動。

教學方式

廣州岑枝詠春拳術學會秉承傳統,一切從基本功開始。穩紮根基後繼而學習套路及黐手,然後漸進學習更高階的武學。 當學員到達一定水平,通過師父審評(包括人格審查),可正式拜入師門(進行拜師禮),建立正式師徒關係。

岑枝

廣州詠春的風格特色

阮奇山所傳的詠春拳同樣有小念頭、尋橋、標指、木人樁法、六點半棍及二字拑陽刀等招式和套路,但其手法和勁力卻極具特色。例如在拳形上,阮奇山詠春有獨龍拳、偏身拳,以及拉馬箭拳等,與其他支流有着明顯分別。而最獨特之處在於勁力運用方面,阮奇山詠春強調要逐步將拳打松,令全身六個大主要關節(即踝、膝、腰、膊、肘、腕)都可以隨時開合,肌肉放鬆而拳頭到最後一刻才握緊,這樣才能夠讓拳快速有力,此為“鬆勁“。在手法上,廣州詠春亦有專為搏擊,從各套路及樁法中抽取精要而編制的“十二散式“。 廣州詠春拳理中,首要基本講求放鬆,不與對方鬥力。當整體放鬆,身手步才能更靈活巧妙,反擊的角度和落點才能更精准。獨有的知覺訓練,訓練學者感應對手橋手上力流變動而作出反應。有了黐手近身攻防的能力後,學習者才會進級去練習離橋搏擊。另外更有獨特方法針對出拳的穿透性,集中性,抓住對手的指力腕力,以及橋手尺寸與韌性的器具訓練。從各種基礎上培養功力。

武術

當中包括:
基本拳法:二字鉗陽馬、四個基本拳
三套路:小練頭、尋橋、標指。
黐手
木人椿
兵器:二字拑陽刀、六點半棍
腎氣歸元
zh_TW繁體中文
en_USEnglish zh_TW繁體中文